Posted by: planetjen | June 2, 2009

It’s been a while…

As my lovely Canadian holiday is coming to a close, I thought I’d update with a few pics of the last project I’ve worked on.
My friend in Ireland had come up with a plan to creat a ‘soft structured carrier’. She wanted to use some of her own beautiful irridescent silk dupioni and also incorporate a fairy patch. She went through the trouble of sending it to me, in Canada, so that I could make by a June 7th deadline.
I took some basic measurements from my standard MT and played around with strap shapes and sizes as well as padding thickness.
After doing much research I settled on going with a thick, wide, curved waistband and straight shoulder straps with a chest strap. My sample had curved straps with 1/4″ padding, but the end product is straight straps with 1/2″ padding.
Another big difference between the SSC and my MTs is that I used a ‘closed cell foam padding’ as opposed to ‘open-cell’. Basically, open cell is quite squishy, so when you apply pressure it reduces significantly in thickness. With closed cell, there isnt much give so it absorbs the pressure way better. Handy for older toddlers and pre-schoolers. I know I’m getting a bit technical here, but I’m excited!

Now for the pics:

The sample:
Front:
PhotobucketPhotobucket

And the (almost) finished product:
PhotobucketPhotobucket
I still have to add the chest straps, put on a bit of topstitching and trim the threads : )

Leave a Reply

Categories

